Where the score is weighted
Montreal, McMaster, Manitoba, Sherbrooke and McGill all publish a percentage. At those schools every quartile you move is a measurable change to whether you are interviewed.
Montreal scores it at 40% of a selection stage, McMaster at 32% of the composite that decides interviews, McGill at 20%. The table below is read off each school's own admissions page and dated. Then you get the system a final-year medical student used to reach the 4th quartile four times.
Of the 17 MD programs below, 10 require Casper on their own admissions pages and 6 publish nothing either way. Every row was read on the school's own page and checked on 17 September 2026. Where a school does not state an answer, the row says so instead of guessing, because a wrong yes costs you a sitting fee and a wrong no costs you the cycle. Applying to dentistry as well? The dentistry page carries the same table for DMD and DDS programs.
| School | Requires Casper | How it is used | Source, checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dalhousie University, Faculty of Medicine (MD) | Yes | Required for eligibility and used specifically to select who is offered an interview. No published percentage weighting. | CASPer Requirement | Medical School Admissions, Dalhousie UniversityChecked 2026-09-17 |
| McGill University, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (MDCM) | Yes | 20% of the pre-interview score, in a ranking of 70% academic context, 20% Casper and 10% CV. The top-ranked candidates on that score are invited to interview. | Casper Test | Undergraduate Medical Admissions, McGill UniversityChecked 2026-09-17 |
| McMaster University, Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine (MD) | Yes | One of four absolute eligibility requirements, and 32% of the pre-interview composite score that decides interview invitations, alongside GPA 32% and MCAT CARS 32%. Casper is not part of the post-interview formula. | Before You Apply | Undergraduate Medical Education, McMaster UniversityChecked 2026-09-17 |
| Memorial University of Newfoundland, Faculty of Medicine (MD) | Yes | Required to be eligible for admission. Memorial describes Casper as complementing its other screening tools and publishes no percentage weighting; its evaluation criteria page describes a holistic review with no component weights. | Casper | Faculty of Medicine, Memorial University of NewfoundlandChecked 2026-09-17 |
| NOSM University (Northern Ontario School of Medicine), MD program | No | - | Selection process and offers of admission | NOSM UniversityChecked 2026-09-17 |
| Queens University, School of Medicine (MD) | Yes | A threshold screen rather than a weighted score. The admissions committee sets a minimum acceptable Casper score each cycle, alongside GPA and MCAT minimums, and applicants below it do not advance past the initial assessment. The threshold itself is not disclosed. | Eligibility and application process | School of Medicine, Queens UniversityChecked 2026-09-17 |
| Universite de Montreal, Faculte de medecine (doctorat de 1er cycle en medecine) | Yes | Passing Casper is a condition of admissibility, and the weight depends on the applicant category: collegial and university applicants are scored 60% academic rating and 40% Casper at the second selection stage, research-doctorate holders 50% research record and 50% Casper, international medical graduates 30% Casper and 70% the medical council examination. | Doctorat de 1er cycle en medecine | Admission, Universite de MontrealChecked 2026-09-17 |
| Universite de Sherbrooke, Faculte de medecine et des sciences de la sante (doctorat en medecine) | Yes | Required of every applicant except those eligible only under the First Nations and Inuit contingent, and sat in French. For the Quebec university category the school publishes a stage weighting of 70% global academic rating and 30% Casper. | Examen Casper | Doctorat en medecine, Universite de SherbrookeChecked 2026-09-17 |
| Universite Laval, Faculte de medecine (doctorat en medecine) | Yes | Casper decides who is called to the multiple mini-interviews among applicants who meet the minimum rating for their category, and applicants not retained on their Casper result are refused without any review of their academic record. A percentage is published only for the international medical graduate category, at 30% Casper and 70% the medical council examination. | Medecine, doctorat de premier cycle | Universite LavalChecked 2026-09-17 |
| University of Alberta, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry (MD) | Not stated on the school's page | Alberta publishes a complete scored-component table, cGPA 30%, personal activities 35% and interview 35%, and Casper appears nowhere on it or on the application requirements, application process and FAQ pages. The faculty does not state that Casper is not required, so this row stays unconfirmed. | Selection and Admission | Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, University of AlbertaChecked 2026-09-17 |
| University of British Columbia, Faculty of Medicine (MD Undergraduate Program) | Not stated on the school's page | The UBC admission requirements page, evaluation criteria page, FAQ and academic calendar entry list the MCAT, GPA, credit and prerequisite requirements, references and the MMI, and never mention Casper or Acuity Insights. No current page states that Casper is not required. | Admission requirements | MD Undergraduate Education, UBC Faculty of MedicineChecked 2026-09-17 |
| University of Calgary, Cumming School of Medicine (MD) | Not stated on the school's page | The Calgary 2026 to 2027 applicant manual publishes the full file-scoring breakdown, GPA 20%, MCAT CARS 10% and five non-cognitive attributes at 10% each, and never mentions Casper or any situational judgment test. The school does not state that Casper is not required, so this row stays unconfirmed. Casper is required for the separate Calgary Physician Assistant program. | Am I Eligible | MD Program, Cumming School of Medicine, University of CalgaryChecked 2026-09-17 |
| University of Manitoba, Max Rady College of Medicine (MD) | Yes | An eligibility requirement for every applicant pool and stream, with a threshold score to clear. The score is then 30% of the composite used to select applicants for the MMI, and 10% of the composite used in the final selection among interviewed applicants. | Max Rady College of Medicine applicant information | University of ManitobaChecked 2026-09-17 |
| University of Ottawa, Faculty of Medicine (MD) | Not stated on the school's page | The current application-process page does not mention Casper either way. In its place it requires an early-phase MMI delivered on the Acuity Insights platform, and the faculty older Casper pages now redirect to its homepage. Confirm with the admissions office before you book a sitting for Ottawa alone. | Application process, UGME | Faculty of Medicine, University of OttawaChecked 2026-09-17 |
| University of Saskatchewan, College of Medicine (MD) | Yes | Mandatory for eligibility. The score is one of several inputs used to decide interview offers, alongside the MCAT, the admissions assessment, the written personal statement and the connectedness indices. No published percentage weighting. | How to apply | College of Medicine, University of SaskatchewanChecked 2026-09-17 |
| University of Toronto, Temerty Faculty of Medicine (MD) | Not stated on the school's page | The Toronto requirements, non-academic requirements, how-to-apply and admissions FAQ pages list the components it does require, essays, the autobiographical sketch, references, verifiers, transcripts and the MCAT, and never mention Casper either as required or as not required. | Non-academic requirements | MD Program, University of TorontoChecked 2026-09-17 |
| Western University, Schulich School of Medicine (MD) | Not stated on the school's page | The Schulich admission requirements page, how-to-apply page and FAQ list the MD program required components, GPA, MCAT, the Western autobiographical sketch, three references and an interview, with no mention of Casper in any form and no statement that it is not required. Schulich Dentistry, on the same admissions site, does require Casper. | Admission requirements | Medicine and Dentistry Admissions, Western UniversityChecked 2026-09-17 |
Requirements change between cycles. Confirm your own list with each school before you pay for a sitting, and send me the list if you want a second pair of eyes on it.
Montreal, McMaster, Manitoba, Sherbrooke and McGill all publish a percentage. At those schools every quartile you move is a measurable change to whether you are interviewed.
Queens sets a minimum it does not publish. Laval refuses candidates on their result without reading the academic record. You cannot aim at a number you are never shown, so you prepare to clear it comfortably.
6 of these programs say nothing either way. If one of them is the only school on your list, phone the admissions office before you book. I will not tell you it is required when the school has not said so.
The seven levels do not change by discipline. The practice material does, so the setting is never the thing that surprises you on test day.
A patient who refuses the treatment you believe they need, and whether you can tell the difference between a choice and an inability to choose.
Someone senior cuts a corner or misses something. Raters want to see you act without turning it into an accusation.
Limited time, limited beds, limited funding. You are scored on how you reason about the trade-off, not on picking the popular answer.
A patient tells you something that puts someone else at risk. The strongest answers name both duties before choosing between them.
Every program teaches the same seven levels, the same 140 scenarios and the same 2026-format mock. What changes is how much of your own writing I mark myself before test day.
The 4th Quartile Promise
If you do not reach the 4th quartile, we keep working together next cycle at no extra cost, until you do.
The promise applies to students who finish the program: every module watched, every assigned scenario submitted, every booked session attended. It covers my coaching, not your test fee, and it applies to one program at a time. CASPer only.
And if the first session is not what you expected, tell me before we hang up and I refund you on the spot, no argument. It has to be said on the call while we are still talking.
Want one session or a written review instead of a full program? Those live on the booking page.
Of the 17 MD programs in the table above, 10 require it on their own admissions pages, and 6 publish nothing either way. Requirements change between cycles, so every row carries the page it came from and the date I read it. Check your own list against the school before you book a sitting.
It depends entirely on the school. Montreal weights it at 40% of its second selection stage for collegial and university applicants, McMaster at 32% of the pre-interview composite, McGill at 20% of the pre-interview score, Manitoba at 30% before the MMI. Queens treats it as an undisclosed threshold you either clear or do not. At Laval, a result that is not retained means refusal without your academic record being read at all.
That is the most common message I get. Casper is the one part of your file you never see a breakdown of, so it is the easiest place for a strong application to lose an interview silently. Send me your test date and your school list and I will tell you honestly where I think you stand.
No. Casper runs the same format whatever program you apply to, and one sitting per cycle is sent to every program you select. What differs is which scenario themes come up most often, and the practice bank covers both sets.
It is where I see the biggest jumps. The typing drills took me from 35 to 103 words a minute, and the structure carries your reasoning even in simple words, which is what a rater is actually scoring. I coach in English and Farsi.
Three to six weeks is ideal. Testing sooner than that? Tell me your date and I will tell you honestly what is achievable and which lessons to prioritise, even if the answer is that you should wait for the next sitting.
I will tell you which of your schools weight Casper most, and what is realistic in the weeks you have left. You do not have to buy anything to get that answer.